All Hopped Up On Midol

Some kids go for pot. Some get hooked on meth. Me? I was popping Midol in junior high.

I had forgotten about this until I heard someone say something about Midol yesterday. The mention brought back this obscure memory from the 8th or 9th grade. You’ll have to understand while reading this, that we didn’t have Google or even Yahoo back then. I’m pretty sure dogpile.com didn’t even exist back then. I wasn’t able to do the research I can do now.

I knew enough (probably by watching Donahue) that there were transgender people out there. And I knew that they took estrogen. I didn’t have access to estrogen. But, I knew that there was a pill in my parents bathroom that my mom took to ease menstrual cramps. And only women got menstrual cramps. So, it must have something in it tailored to women’s bodies.

I remember sneaking out a few and taking them to school with me. I had almost forgotten they were in my pocket. But, by the time Spanish class rolled around, I remembered. I nervously held them in my hand. I wasn’t sure what they would do, if anything at all. But, I knew I had to find out. So, I bravely slid them into my mouth when I was confident no one was looking. I swallowed them dry.

Yeah. I was disappointed.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All Hopped Up On Midol

  1. Patrick lakner says:

    You write poignantly and with passion … I read your blogs and they always stir me too read more …you should think about more writing in your life

Leave a Reply

