Memories of Thuds Gone By

I’m a bit of a restless sleeper. It’s not uncommon for me to wake up to find most or all of my blankets on the floor. This morning, I woke up wondering if someone had tied me up.

Sometimes I’ll go to bed with headphones in my ears. So, it’s not entirely unheard of to find the headphone wire wrapped around my neck. Not only did I wake to find wires tangled around my neck and weaved into my hair. But, my legs were wrapped up in my electric blanket wire.

Before I got up, I did a quick scan around my room to make sure my captors weren’t nearby.

It’s Spring time around here. So, the first thing I did was unplug the electric blanket wire. But, in all honesty those wires might have been the only things that kept me from falling to the ground.

When I was a kid, my parents found a bunk bed for sale in the newspaper classifieds (You might remember that this was the popular way people bought and sold their used things before Craigslist). I have no idea why they bought a bunk bed. I was the only one who slept in my bedroom. The only sibling I had was my sister, who had her own room. Maybe it was a really good deal. Maybe they hoped a friend would sleep over occasionally.

One night, shortly after we got it, I decided that I would sleep on the top bunk. I was probably around 8 years old. So, sleeping that far off the ground was a big adventure. I remember going to sleep on the top bunk. But, when I woke up the next morning, I was on the floor.

My mom told me later that she heard a thud in the middle of the night. My room was right next to theirs, so she came into my room to find me on the floor. After checking to make sure I hadn’t broken my neck, she put a pillow under my head and covered me with a blanket. I’m not only a restless sleeper, I’m also a deep sleeper. I didn’t wake up at all.

An important detail I should include is that this was southern California. Ranch houses in California are built on concrete slabs. Californians do a lot of weird things. But, basements aren’t one of them. Wood might have been a little more forgiving than concrete. But, apparently I didn’t notice.

Before the day ended, a new railing was installed along the outer edge of the top bunk.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

