A Fair For Jobs

Today in Denver is the second annual Transgender Job Fair. I’m thinking of all my trans friends and the organizers. I’ll be keeping my ear close to the social media grapevine to hear how things go.

Nope. Not gonna be there. Yes, it would be a great time to find another job. Goodness knows I don’t want my current job to be my career. But, there are several reasons why I won’t be attending this years event. I have several things going on in my life. The most obvious is that I’m nowhere near presenting full or even part time in female mode. But, the most important reason is that job hunting and interviewing are somewhat stressful things. And right now, I’m in the middle of PTSD counseling. Which is a massive time suck and a ball of stress in it’s own weight class.

There will be another one in October and hopefully one or two next year. So, we’ll see where my life is then.

This years event, will again be at the GLBT Center in downtown Denver. Courtney, the Center’s Transgender Programs Coordinator has done a wonderful job preparing for it. Apparently last year’s job fair was very well attended (but not well RSVP’d). I saw the list of the employers who have committed to being there. It’s quite impressive. I don’t remember all of them. But, some big names included Hewlitt Packard and some local, state and federal governments.

Good luck friends. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you all from a safe distance.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Gender Stuff, NotAboutFamily, Transgender. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

