“I’m So Glad I’m Not A Chick”

I had just zipped up my pants and was making my way to hand sink when I heard one of the many guys in the men's room say “Dude, I'm so glad I'm not a chick”. There were scatterings of mild laughter. We all knew what he meant. We had passed The Line on our way here.

I was at Red Rocks Amphitheater last night with some friends for a Missy Higgins concert. Oh yeah. And some guy named Gotye. But, it was raining pretty strong before he came out. So, we decided to take off. Before we made the decision to leave, I made my way down to the restrooms to the left of the stage. Since this was an intermission of sorts between acts, I figured a lot of people would be there. And sadly, what is typical at events like this is the inevitable line for the ladies room. Now, I'm not presenting female. So, I headed to the men's room. But, since you have to walk past the ladies room, your inevitably going to run into The Line. I headed down the left side of the stairs like a good American who rides her bike on that side of the road and before I knew it, I had to raise my head from looking down at the steps. There in front of me was a line of women, maybe 30 people long, snaking it's way outside the door. I had to climb over the handrail to get around it.

On my way out, I saw several women look at the line, shake their heads and turn away deciding they could hold it. I know this is an age old question. But, why aren't women's restrooms larger than men's?

I'm certainly looking forward to the day I can live fulltime as a woman. But, this is not something I'm looking forward too.

Oh, the concert? It was great, if only a little short. Missy Higgins only played maybe 5 or 6 songs. We were there mainly to see her. We might have stayed a little longer to hear Gotye. But, since it was raining, we decided the benefits of going out weighed sticking it out. I think we had a great time. And, as always, it was great hanging out with friends.

Oh, and there was a funny moment at the beginning of Missy Higgins set where the song Secret (oh the irony) didn't quite sound right. I saw her guitarist walk up to her laughing. And then Missy said “It looks like my guitar is so out of tune, that my band refuses to play with me.” They tried for a minute to tune her guitar. But, quickly the guitarist handed her his guitar so she could go on. This was the first stop on the tour. So, of course there will be issues that need to be worked out.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

