Don’t F**** With Me Like That

I was ma’am’ed earlier today. Here’s how it went.

Him: “How may I help you ma’am?”

Me: *shocked* “I’m here to see Courtney.”

Him: “can I have your name?

Me: (Insert long pause here) “Robert”

Him: “Robert? (I stare blankly. Clearly still in shock) (He picks up the phone and calls Courtney) “Robert is here to see you.”

He looks at me and says I can go back to her office.

I walked into her office to be greeted by Courtney looking up at me from her desk. Before i can sit down, she says “Don’t fuck with me like that.”

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t F**** With Me Like That

  1. Gwen says:

    I really liked this post. I was only correctly misgendered (if that makes any sense) a few times when I was still presenting “male”, but when it did happen, I felt the same sort of stunned disbelief.

    Although I really like Courtney’s response, it’s the only thing I _don’t_ quite understand. I assume she expected you to be announced as “Becca”, but it sounds like you were presenting male at the time, so…?

    • tossingfrogs says:

      Gwen, I can understand why that would be hard to understand. Courtney is the transgender programs coordinator at the LGBT Center in Denver. And I was there, presenting male. She knows my male name. But, she doesn’t use it with me. She was expecting Becca. But, I was presenting male. I hadn’t seen this older gentleman at the front desk before. So, out of habit and security, I decided to just go with what I’m comfortable saying. So, I said Robert. I hope this helps clearing things up a bit. 🙂

      • Gwen says:

        Oh yes; I understand now. Thank you for responding. I’ve been in the same quandry. I am never completely sure how I am going to be gendered. It was more complicated when I was still presenting as male, but people occasionally gendered me as female (hence the “correctly misgendered” comment above). And I definitely was caught off-balance when they did. It was wonderful but confusing. I tended to be elated; the other party tended to be confused or embarrassed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

