Mumford & Sons

*I just opened the blogging app on my iPad and saw this unpublished blog post from several months ago. I think I wanted to add something to it and simply forgot about it. So, here is my experience at the Mumford and Sons concert at Red Rocks.

 

Last Wednesday, myself and a couple of friends went up to Colorado’s legendary Red Rocks Amphitheater to see Mumford & Sons. It was the second of two sold out concerts. So, we were expecting a very large crowd. The crowd, we got. But, we were also treated to an incredible show.

 

In the days leading up to the event, I teased that I might consider going in girl mode. But, on the evening in question, I chickened out. As it stands today, I’ve been off estradiol for five months. And although I’m back on testosterone blockers, it’s not enough. I decided that I don’t have enough mundane real life experience to fall back on. A sold out Red Rocks show’s capacity is 9,450 people. As much as I’d like to think that I have conquered social anxiety, I didn’t think I would end up enjoying the concert if I had gone through with it. But, that didn’t mean I wouldn’t take the clothes I had chosen with me in my backpack. You know. Just in case I changed my mind. That right there is something I wouldn’t have the strength to do a year ago. So, not a total defeat. Small steps.

 

There were two opening bands who were much better than I was expecting. And there were a couple of songs where members of Mumford and Sons came out to assist on. Before the sun went down, we saw some of the many cameras they used to film this event. Mumford filmed both concerts and will eventually release a DVD concert movie. Red Rocks is a gorgeous location. And it has a rich history of legendary concerts. I can’t wait for it.

 

The main show was very well done. They really know how to put on a show. Mumford and Sons has so many great songs. Just when I thought they had played every song I had heard of theirs, another would start. The real fun came after what my friend Sarah calls the fake last song. I think they played three songs during the encore. They invited members of the opening bands back on stage to play the Beatles’ With A Little Help From My Friends. And then half way through that song, they let off a confetti cannon from each side of the amphitheater. It was a great ending.

 

I left that evening quite proud of myself for three personal accomplishments.

 

1: During the opening acts, we noticed that the people sitting to our right had a box of cookies. We joked that we should ask if they brought enough for everyone. But, I took it further by actually asking them if they did indeed bring enough for everyone at Red Rocks. The girl laughed and said they had more than enough to share with us. So, I grabbed three cookies and passed them down to Sarah and her husband Bill.

 

2. What would a modern concert be without scores of smart phones being held up to document what was happening on the stage. Most of the phones were very clearly either iPhones or an Android variant. But, about half way through the show, I noticed a red light blinking from a smallish phone being held up about three rows in front of us. There was just enough light to make out the unmistakable body and keyboard of what used to be known as a “smartphone”. Wanting to get my friends attention during a concert, I spoke using my very appropriate outside voice. But, what I didn’t expect was that I would draw the attention of anyone else. My “Wow! That’s a Blackberry!” suddenly made the young lady in front of us turn around and laugh. I looked down at her, smiled and shared in the moment as we both understood that the sighting of a Blackberry is kind of a rarity these days. I didn’t shy away. I wasn’t the bit embarrassed or shy.

 

3. There were a ton of people there. We initially hung back for a minute or two while everyone else exited at the conclusion of the show. And my Spironolactone induced restroom break delayed our exit as well. But, once we made it to the top of the stairs and noticed the long line of cars that weren’t moving, we decided to sit on a nearby bench to wait it out. While sitting there, I was the second person to notice a small styrofoam cooler wedged between the railing and the concrete bench. My curiosity got the best of me. I wanted to see what someone had stashed and apparently forgotten to grab on the way out. I jokingly mentioned that it might be a human heart that didn’t quite make it to a transplant patient. But, once I had it opened, I noticed four unopened cans of beer wedged into ice. Two cans of Modello and two Tecati. I’m not a big beer drinker. And, come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve had any alcohol since the beginning of the 2012 calendar year. I haven’t had these kinds of beer. So, I decided I would give them a shot. I wasn’t driving. The part that made me proud was that I offered them to the people waiting near us. One of the older guys took one. I wasn’t shy. I didn’t mumble. I’m proud of myself. By the way, I learned that I despise Modello. And Tecate isn’t half bad.

 

My friends took me back down into the metro area where I had stashed my bike before they headed back to the Republic of Boulder. But, before I started making my way home, I visited a restroom and changed into the clothes I had brought along.

It was a great evening wi th friends. I won’t likely forget it for a very long time. Huge thanks to my friends for inviting me.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Concerts, NotAboutFamily and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mumford & Sons

  1. I used to drink Modelo until I realized it was basically water and I couldn’t get a buzz from it. Glad to read about your victories.

Leave a Reply

