Vitamin B

Having spent my entire life living with anxiety, it’s been difficult knowing when it’s gone. How would I know what it’s like if I’ve never experienced a waking hour without anxiety? Last month, a suggestion from a friend provided the opportunity to have that long sought after experience.
I recently met up with a trans friend who has offered me some help in things transition related. Before we started talking about how she planned to help, she told me her wife also suffers from anxiety. She recounted a story of her spouses recent visit to her doctor. The doc suggested she try vitamin B. He gave her an injection of vitamin B-12. My friend said after they left the doctors office, they went out to eat. About thirty minutes after getting the injection, her wife turned to complete strangers at the next table and started talking to them. That, apparently was something she wouldn’t do ordinarily.
I found this so intriguing, that I immediately went to Target after my meeting with my friend to find some vitamin B. I bought a bottle of vitamin B-12. And about an hour after taking it, it truly felt like the anxiety was gone.
I’ve now been taking it every day for about a month or so. And wow! It’s made a huge difference in my life. I can now make eye contact with people. I don’t really have a hard time speaking up while talking with people I don’t know. And I can walk into new buildings without barely a second thought.
I really have no idea why vitamin B is so useful in the fight against anxiety. Maybe people who suffer from anxiety are short vitamin B. I haven’t had a lot of time to look into it. I did talk with a doctor at my last endocrinology appointment. But, I forgot to ask specific questions. I’ll have to remember to do that later. I’m just glad it’s gone.

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, NotAboutFamily, Social Anxiety and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

