The Last Pizza Cards

There is a grand total of 15 years of pizza work on my resume. I finally left that kind of work in November, 2012. In it’s wake, I was left with a stack of unused free pizza cards for Papa John’s Pizza. These business card sized coupons were often given to customers who had a bad experience. They are typically signed by either a franchise owner or District Manager. All one has to do is say you have one when ordering on the phone and all your pizza is free. That doesn’t mean you won’t pay a delivery fee. But, don’t get me started on that. It’s very rare that a manager will ask for these free cards at the end of the night. So, just about all delivery drivers for Papa John’s has a stack of cards they use for everything from discounts on tires to free oil changes and dinner for themselves and their families. 

The reason I’m writing about this is to mention that I used my last ones last week. I thought I had run out before Christmas. But, then found a couple while going through storage. So, when I knew I was down to my last couple, I went to the store on Colfax and Downing, ordered two pepperoni pizzas. I then took them to Civic Center Park and handed them out to the homeless people hanging out there. I figured it was an appropriate way to officially and finally end my career with the pizza business. I started doing that kind of work to hide. And now that I am working my way out of that habit, I wanted to somehow give back. I gave it some thought. And decided this was the right way to do it. So, there we are. I am officially and hopefully forever disconnected and seperated in every way I know of from an industry that kept me alive but did nothing in helping me further my life. Goodbye Papa John. This chapter is now closed. 
About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in NotAboutFamily, Pizza. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

