The Distraction Problem

When I’m down about my gender problem, a good friend suggests I distract myself with a project. The problem is that I’m down so much, that’s all I seem to be doing. Distracting myself with work I need to get done, an unfinished puzzle, a programming project or even a book does seem to do the trick. The only problem is that the dysphoria seems to be so all encompassing, all I’m doing is distracting myself.

When I’m down, I can’t look at myself in the mirror. Which also means I can’t work on makeup. But, of course having more than a little bit of mascara might also help. When I’m down, I can’t stand the sound of my own voice. So, of course voice work is out of the question. When I’m down, it’s all I can do to get out of bed.
I don’t know how I’m going to do this. I need to solve this gender puzzle. Especially during those few times when I’m not kicking myself for how I was born.
About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Depression, Gender Stuff, NotAboutFamily, Social Anxiety, Transgender. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

