Me & Cheese

I just finished describing my hate relationship with cheese to a friend. I’ve never had an official diagnosis. But, looking back at my childhood, lactose intolerance is clearly the issue.

When I explained that I used to work in pizza restaurants………yep yep that’s the look she gave me. Mozzarella is the most tolerable of cheeses. But, it still causes me some issues. So, I tend to try to avoid pizza as well. But, it will tempt me to the dark side on occasion.

Other foods I won’t touch include cheese burgers and grilled cheese sandwiches. I’ve never tried a quesadilla. But, I suspect it wouldn’t go well.

But, do I like cheese? I firmly believe that your brain will tell your taste goods something is bad for you and make it taste bad. At least some of the time. Clearly it doesn’t work for candy and fast food. For the most part, I don’t like cheese. And the smell? No. No. No.

But, it’s always been tough for me to describe what melted cheese feels like going down my throat. Oh! I have a food texture thing as well. There are some foods I just won’t touch if the texture of it is weird in my mouth. Marshmallows are an excellent example. Just ask @Mad_Alchemist how that went a couple years ago during a camping trip in Utah. I first came upon this example below from the movie The Matrix when I was trying to explain what Poi tastes like. I had poi for the first and only time during a luau on Oahu when I was in the Navy. I think it also works great for describing why I stay away from melted cheese.
Enjoy:

About Frogtosser

A former sailor and pizza maker who is done hiding from the world and is now living life to it's fullest extent. I'm a single speed bicycle commuter who enjoys writing and photography. I'm a voracious reader. And a huge geek!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

